You searched for City|State: oceanside, ca
Showing results 1 to 10 of 12
Beneath a nearby sycamore tree,
two of Andres Pico's officers,
Leonardo Cota and Jose Alipas,
planned their successful strategy
against the American forces
they battled at San Pasqual
on December 6, 1846
The Santa Margarita Ranch House Bell. It is not known where the Santa Margarita Ranch House Bell was cast or in what year it was first hung in the arch on the front porch of the ranch house.
It has been suggested that it may have been brought t…
They were the Boys of '45, Marine veterans of the Pacific Island hopping campaigns, 18 to 21 year olds, and the career Marines who had been at every clime and place. They were the 3d, 4th, and 5th Marine Divisions and Support Units.
They were the…
We few, we Chosin few, we eternal band of brothers.
This marker is dedicated to the Alligator Marines of the 2nd Amphibian Tractor Battalion who served in World War II
They participated in action against the enemy on Guadalcanal, Tarawa, Saipan, Tinian and Okinawa
1942 - 1945
May all who visit t…
First panel:Walled Garden The Mission grew a wide variety of fruits, vegetables, and grains in a number of vast gardens for the use of their community. This garden, located west of the Mission, was walled with adobe bricks to protect it from grazi…
Leslie Alford USS California · Melvin Allison USS Dobbin · John Anderson USS Widgeon · Earl S. Arneson USS New Orleans · Jack Arnold Ford Island NAS · Richard Aufmann 1st Defense Bn. · Lee Averett USS Trac…
At an election held - June 19, 1926, to vote 100,000 bonds for the construction of this pier, the people of Oceanside voted 685 for, and 95 against.
Contract awarded - December 8, 1926. Construction finished and Pier officailly dedicated to th…
On this site is the former homestead of the founder of Oceanside, Andrew Jackson (A.J.) Myers. A native of La Salle County Illinois, A. J. Myers was born in 1840, and lived for a time in San Joaquin County, California in 1852. He served in the mil…
In July, 1769, the Portola Expedition named this area for St. Margaret of Antioch. The Mission San Luis Rey 1827 inventories list a small building in the area. In 1841, Rancho Santa Margarita y San Onofre was granted to Andres and Pio Pico, the la…