Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State: new iberia, la

Page 2 of 5 — Showing results 11 to 20 of 49
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM26OH_bayou-teche_New-Iberia-LA.html
Because movement here in the late 1800s was easier by water than by land, many daily activities occurred on or along Bayou Teche, including transportation, trade, and mail delivery.Bayou Teche is an ancient channel of the Mississippi River, which …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM26ID_spanish-lake_New-Iberia-LA.html
Spanish Lake is an example of a bluff lake, which forms in areas between the bayou bank and the higher bank that runs along the edge of a river's drainage area.Spanish Lake, formerly called Lake Flamand and later Lake Tasse (meaning "cup"…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM26FN_spanish-lake_New-Iberia-LA.html
First known as Lake Flamand for one of the early settlers, Jean Baptist Grevemberg; known as Lake Tasse by the French due to its cup shape; and known as Spanish Lake for early Spanish colonials who lived on its shores.
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM26FI_new-iberia-shipwreck_New-Iberia-LA.html
The wreckage of Teche, a steamship, lies buried below the surface at this site. The steamer, built in 1860, was originally named Sam Sugg and then Tom Sugg. It was constructed for commercial use with a small side-wheeled shallow draft western-styl…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1ZGW_jefferson-island_New-Iberia-LA.html
Once known as Orange Island purchased after the Civil War by Joseph Jefferson (1829-1905), world famous actor and artist. Home designed and built about 1870.
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1YZL_bazus-building_New-Iberia-LA.html
Originally the Iberia House, the Bezus Building was erected circa 1880 on property purchased in 1868 by Laurent Bazus, a native of Vin-En-Bigorre, France. It is considered the oldest existing structure in New Iberia's downtown. Laurent's heirs hav…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1YZ2_provosts-cafe-and-bar-clementine-fine-dining-and-spirits_New-Iberia-LA.html
Originally part of the 1777 Spanish Land Grant to Fran├žois Prévost, this Iberia to Julia Street property with its circa 1890 building was purchased by Frédéric Henri Dupérier in 1829. The property remained with the hei…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1YZ1_wormsers-department-store_New-Iberia-LA.html
Constructed after the Great Fire of 1899, these buildings once housed Jake Weil's clothing store named The Hub and Schwing and Carsten's Department Store. In 1932, Justin Wormser established Wormser's Department Store in the westernmost building. …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1YZ0_the-gouguenheim-building_New-Iberia-LA.html
This building, having a second story gallery which extended over the sidewalk, was largely responsible for preventing a disastrous fire from spreading throughout the Town's business district. As flamed destroyed the block just east of here on the …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1YYZ_evangeline-theater_New-Iberia-LA.html
After the Great Fire of 1870, the Dreyfus Building was partitioned in 1929, with this portion becoming one of the city's early movie houses, The Evangeline Theater., Opened on April 19, 1930, by the Theodore Sliman Family, the building was renovat…
PAGE 2 OF 5