Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State: madison, ct

Showing results 1 to 10 of 10
Born April 3, 1766 Married Anna FowlerCaptain Lee's Portrait-painted by General Kosciusko 1797Captain of U.S. Revenue Cutter "Eagle"War 1812Lee Academy built 1821Hosted Marquis De Lafayette 1824Named our town ?Madison' 1826First town meeting mode…
Founded by Captain Frederick Lee and other pillars of the community as a privately funded co-educational institution for higher education, Lee's Academy provided students with a level of instruction beyond the basic rudimentary subjects available …
Commissioned in 1809 by U.S. President Madison, Frederick Lee served in the U.S. Revenue Cutter Service until 1829, providing security for the New Haven port and protection of American Ships on Long Island Sound. On October 10, 1814, while the Eas…
In memory for the life of Dianne Bullis Snyder, Flight Attendant American Airlines Flight 11, Sept 11, 2001-February 12, 1959-September 11, 2001.To live in the hearts of those we leave behind is not to die.
Fourth President of the United States-Father of the Constitution-Author of the Bill of Rights-Madison Connecticut Incorporated 1826
Erected to honor those of Madison, Conn. who answered their country's call and gave their services for the great cause of liberty
The people of the town of Madison dedicated this memorial to its citizens who answered their nation's call to arms. Their sacrifice helped keep his nation free with special affection we honor those who gave their lives that we all may live in free…
This monument is dedicated to the citizens of Madison who have served our nation in the Armed Services since 1975. Their dedication to service in numerous conflicts, campaigns, and operations continues to protect our liberty, freedom and way of li…
Erected in memory of all patriots of Madison (then east Guilford) who served in the War of Independence that this nation might be free.
This area, formerly part of Guilford and known as East Guilford, was first settled about 1650 on land bought from the Nehantic and Mohegan Indians in 1641. With population increasing, settlers here sought separate parishes and the Society of East …