You searched for City|State: littleton, nh
Showing results 1 to 10 of 23
Main Street's oldest surviving commercial building was built of village-hewn timber in 1833 by the Brackett brothers.
William (1785-1859) and Aaron B. (1797-1868) traders in general merchandise.
An upstairs hall hosted meetings, notably in 1848,…
When erected in 1889, this building housed the Littleton Public Library and the Christian Science Society, in which R.D. Rounsevel was prominent.
Its tenants included diverse retailers, insurance offices, the Republic-Journal newspaper, and photo…
This building was graced with the first church bell and spire in town.
Built in 1850 on the site of the Old Red Store, a pioneer tavern, the church was dedicated on January 8, 1851.
A Greek Revival portico with two fluted Doric columns was repla…
On July 4, 1833, Main Street's first house of "publick worship" was dedicated here on Meetinghouse Hill.
Several denominations shared the English Gothic church, and it was a famed forum for abolition and temperance causes.
When fire claimed Jacob M. Salomon's dry goods store on this site, he built this angled Georgian Revival showpiece in 1912, capping three decades of Main Street development begun by H. L. Tilton.
Salomon (1878-1945) saluted his neighbor with cast…
In 1850, merchant Fry Gile (1819-1898) built a block here.
When he moved to Kansas in 1854, it was purchased by retailer Nathan McCoy (1813-1886).
The McCoy Block housed studios for the Kilburn Stereoscopic View Factory (1860-68) and in 1879 for…
Millions of coin and stamp collectors know Littleton thought the Littleton Stamp & Coin Company, a mail order firm launched in December, 1945 on the second floor of Tilton's Opera Block.
Fannie Kasper Sundman, impressed by the friendly and scenic…
Ira Parker (1846-1938) built a house here in 1885.
He had left his family's tannery in 1866 to make gloves.
By 1889 he had become general manager of the Saranac Buck Glove Company, the town's major manufacturer.
Parker sold his share in Saranac…
On this site in 1867, the Kilburn Brothers built a stereograph factory.
When production moved to Cottage Street in 1873, the structure became the Dow Store, then, in 1883, the White Store owned by Rev. Frederick Chutter, former pastor (1887-1890)…
Thayer's Inn has welcomed countless guests over the years.
Among them have been the famous (and the infamous).
A brief listing includes visiting Presidents Ulysses S. Grant, Franklin Pierce, Richard Nixon, and Jimmy Carter.
Also stopping here …