Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State: lafayette, in

Showing results 1 to 10 of 27
"We are united in one feeling for the Union. We believe in...every star and stripe of the glorious flag." On these tracks Abraham Lincoln stopped in Lafayette and spoke those Unifying words on Feb 11, 1861 on his "Whistle Stop Tour" en route to Wa…
Neighborhood in late-Victorian "landscape garden suburb" style, designed by Cincinnati firm, Earnshaw and Punshon. Platted 1891, 1893. Houses are of a wide variety of architectural styles. Important for this suburban development was 1892 spur on e…
Side AThis District is named for U.S. Patent Commissioner, Henry Leavitt Ellsworth, who lived in the neighborhood and was instrumental in the settling of the Wabash Valley area. As Lafayette grew, the neighborhood was a popular choice for all clas…
( Individual Plaques - Left to Right ) SPC Luke P. Frist209th Quartermaster Co., Lafayette, INUnited States Army ReserveJanuary 5, 2004, Ar Ramadi, Iraq Marine Cpl. Bryan Scott Wilson2nd Battalion, 11th Marine Regiment1st Marine Div. 1st Marine…
Side AJust after noon, June 1, 1791, from the elevation to the south, now known as "High Gap", Brigadier General Charles Scott, his 33 officers, and 760 mounted Kentucky Militiamen rode toward the smoke of cooking fires rising four miles to the no…
Highland Neighborhood ParkHas Been Placed on theNational Registerof Historic Placesby The United StatesDepartment of the Interior Listed March 14, 1996
Earl & Hatcher BlockHas been placed on theNational Registerof Historic Placesby the United StatesDepartment of the InteriorBuilt 1865
Granville cemetery was once part of the great Wea Plains and still contains many species of the original prairie vegetation. This is one of the last remnants of the Indiana prairies that covered much of Tippecanoe County. It is preserved and manag…
Site of station of Underground Railway used by Quakers during pre-Civil War days in smuggling slaves to Canada. Leader of the enterprise was Buddell Sleeper.
Founded in 1834 by Thomas W. Treckett and Thomas Concannon, with later additions in 1836. Granville boasted 153 lots and a public square. In 1850 its name was changed to Weaton, after the Wea Indian town which once stood to the east. Later the nam…