You searched for City|State: gilroy, ca
Showing results 1 to 10 of 11
John Cameron Gilroycirca 1854
John Cameron Gilroy, native of Scotland, arrived in Spanish California in 1814, and became the first permanent English speaking settler. He married Maria Clara de la Ascencion Ortega, daughter of the family that o…
Jim Jack was known as China Jim, the Mustard King. In the 1880's he gathered mustard seed from the grain fields in the San Juan Valley. Jim Jack, "the big-hearted Chinaman" had that rarest of gifts, the gift of giving.
On September 16, 1857, John Butterfield, a New Yorker, received a contract with the U.S. Post Office Department to establish reliable transportation between Missouri and San Francisco.
As a young man he joined with Henry Wells and William Fargo…
Bernard and Mabel Franklin moved to this property after its purchase in 1895. The home at this location had been built approximately 20 years prior, from Mt. Madonna Redwood. It has been home to four generations of Franklins. Bernard helped build …
This land was originally part of the El Rancho Solis granted in 1828. The main home is one of the oldest wooden structures in the county. Part of the present residence dates back to 1833 and the redwood timbers were hauled from Mt. Madonna for its…
John Gilroy arrived in Monterey in 1814 on one of the North-West Co. trading ships; "ISAAC TODD," which he deserted. He then fled to the Santa Clara Valley, marrying Maria Clara Ortega and settling on Rancho San Ysidro. His rightful name was John …
[This is a two-sided marker. Side-one being in English and Side-two being in Spanish:]
[Side One:]CHITACTACFor over 3,000 years, this area around the Uvas Creek drainage supported large populations of ancestral Ohlone People. This locality is b…
This building was constructed in 1905and restored by the Gilroy Historical Societyto the memory of the pioneers of this area.—MARKED BY—Native Daughters of the Golden WestGilroy Parlor No. 312Gilroy, CaliforniaApril 27, 1968
[This base is a two-sided monument commemorating both Rancho San Ysidro (side 1) and San Ysidro School (side 2)]
RANCHO SAN YSIDROIn the early 1800's Rancho San Ysidro was granted to Ygnacio Ortega. After his death the lands were divided among …
The Catherine Dunn Ranch once part of the Rancho San Francisco de Las Llagas Spanish land grant was divided in 1893 and sold to early settlers to form Rucker Township.
Education was especially important to these pioneers who had been through dr…