You searched for City|State: erie, pa
Page 9 of 12 — Showing results 81 to 90 of 117
Chief Steward & President, United Electrical Workers Union Local 506, 1942-1959. Accused of McCarthy-era Communist activity, he was the first union leader fired by General Electric, 1953. He defended workers' civil liberties while UE represented h…
Known as the "Dean of American Magicians," he was mentor and friend to Harry Houdini. Considered the first American magician to become an international star, he performed extensively on five continents, impressing audiences with his eleg…
Organized in 1921, the 112th is part of the famed 28th Div., the oldest continuous infantry division in the US Army. The 112th, previously known as the 16th, has origins in the storied 83rd PVI regiment formed in Erie in 1861 during the Civil War.…
A section of this canal, linking New Castle and Erie, lies at foot of the slope, to left of side road. Conneaut Line, Erie to Conneaut Lake, begun by State, 1838; finished by company headed by R.S. Reed, of Erie, 1843-44.
Built in Erie in 1843, USS Michigan (later named Wolverine) was the US Navy's first iron-hulled ship. Michigan was stationed in Erie, served on the Great Lakes until 1923, scrapped in 1949.
At 236 East 11th Street. Founded 1874, this is Erie's oldest African-American congregation. Five of its first six members were women. Originally at 3rd and German Streets, this church has long ministered to the spiritual and social needs of the Er…
Pioneer nurse anesthetist. Born Jeanne Sheridan in Ireland, Sister Bernard entered Saint Vincent Hospital to study nursing in 1877 and developed expertise in anesthesiology. Her work was a landmark in nurse anesthesia education programs nationwide.
Perry's ships, the Lawrence, the Niagara, and the Ariel, were built in spring, 1813, at the foot of this street. His warehouses, blockhouse, and lookout station were also located there.
Here today's highway leaves the course of the Presque Isle Portage, part of the historic Venango Trail. The French Road, built in 1753, following an Indian path, turned down into the valley.
This Italianate style mansion was built in 1862 for the Honorable Gideon J. Ball (1811-1886). A silversmith and farmer, Ball became clerk of Erie town council in 1836 then County Auditor and Treasurer. He served seven terms in State House of Repre…