Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State: coatesville, pa

Showing results 1 to 10 of 22
Site of Mason & Dixon's "Stargazing" Observatory 1764 In the roadbed near this stone, a square iron spike marks the original location of the astronomical observatory used by surveyor-astronomers Charles Mason and Jeremiah Dixon in …
Here Rests Indian Hannah The Last of the Lenni-Lenape Indians in Chester County who died in 1802 — Marked by Chester County Historical Society 1909
Indian Hannah1730-1802The last of the tribe of Lenni-Lenape in Chester County
This Plaque CommemoratesThe Site of TheCharles Lukens Huston HouseDesigned By Cope & StewardsonArchitects, Philadelphia, 1895Constructed 1895 - 96Placed By the Graystone SocietyOctober 21, 1995
Issac Pennock, properly considered the founder of the business which became the Lukens Steel Company, began his career in the manufacture of iron in the early 1790s when he erected a mill at a place called Rokeby on the Buck Run in Chester County,…
Following his marriage in 1895 to Annie MacGregor Stewart of Savannah, Georgia, Charles Lukens Hustonhad this home built in 1896. The house was designed by Cope & Stewardson, Philadelphia architects whowere responsible as well for his brother's Gr…
Graystone Mansion is Coatesville's most architecturally significant residence andwas the home of Abram Francis Huston who succeeded his father, Dr. CharlesHuston as president of the Lukens Iron & Steel Company in 1897. A grandson ofRebecca Lukens,…
Prominent authority on astronomy and author of more than one hundred books and articles. Sitterly was a career physicist with the Bureau of Standards, U.S. Department of Commerce. She received the American Astronomical Society award in 1937 and wa…
The successful growth of the Brandywine mill is reflected in Terracina, which was built in 1850-1851 by Rebecca Lukens for her daughter, Isabella Lukens Huston, and Isabella's husband, Dr. Charles Huston. Constructed in the Country Gothic style ma…
The small house known as Brandywine Mansion is the oldest structure in the Lukens National Historic District. The original east section, closer to the road, dates back to the mid 1700s and the larger west section was added around 1788, shortly aft…