You searched for City|State: canton, ct
Showing results 1 to 10 of 11
Route 44 began as the Indian's Northwest Path. It became the Hartford to Albany Road during the French and Indian War in order to move troops and equipment. In 1984, it became the Albany Turnpike, a toll road.
1776 House was an old home conver…
Driving along Maple Avenue, circa 1915
Some early transportation at the corner of Maple Avenue & River Road, circa 1910
CNE Station on Canton Springs Road with cemetery in the background, circa 1900
Patrons of Cherry Park, off Lovely Stree…
On this site, in 1778, Phoebe Humphrey protected
her home from Hessian soldiers who were part of
Burgoyne's captured army headed for Boston.
Because of her bravery, she became the namesake
of the Collinsville Chapter of the National Society
This building was built in 1865. Here, plows were assembled, painted, labeled and stored. By 1870, the Collins Company was producing 100 plows a day.
The introduction of the tractor and gasoline powered farm equipment eventually made hand plowi…
From the book "Connecticut Railroads" by Turner & Jacobs. Train time at Collinsville, Connecticut on the Central New England Railway. Because the main-line track was on the outskirts of town, trains actually backed into the station. This…
Central New England Railroad had several names but started in 1871 and ended in 1927. It ran from Hartford, Connecticut to Millerton, New York. The train came into this High Street Junction (on Dyer Avenue) from Simsbury. The passenger station was…
Canoe Club, circa 1910- The club house was near the present-day nursery.
Note: The house in back was lost in the flood of 1955
Ice on the river, Circa 1900
View of the river from the tracks, Circa 1910
Station, circa 1911, located al…
Offspring of Connecticut Original Charter Oak
Troop 77 Collinsville
Boy Scouts of America
April 25, 1964
Commemorating Connecticut's 1902
Collins Co. President E.H. Sears
Settlement of the area later called Canton, originally part of Simsbury, began in 1737 with the erection of the Richard Case II home on East Hill. The earliest homes were constructed along "Cherry's" brook. The settlers' name for…