The Charles Dey family acquired this 42 acre site on Old Church Road in 1927. Typical of farmsteads in this era, the house, which had been constructed in three stages beginning in 1820, was complemented by its red barns, shed and protective shade trees. In the late 1940s, ownership of the property passed to their son, Charles L. Dey Jr., who raised his family in this sturdy home, situated in the agricultural center of Monroe Township. During the 1900s, the principal crop was potatoes which would have been transported to Freehold or South River. In addition to growing hay for the cows and horses, the early rising household tended chickens and pigs, and kept a vegetable garden for home consumption.
The Dey Farm is now the centerpiece of an historic hamlet, dedicated to providing current area residents with an opportunity to experience Monroe's rich, rural past.