The building and its functions have changed with time and local missions. The covered gallery, chimneys and roof ventilators of the 18th century have long been removed. The iron doors were added in the mid-19th century when the building was converted to use as the Hessian Guard House. The Carlisle Indian Industrial School used the building from 1879 to 1918. During the early 20th century, it was used primarily for storage until converted in 1948 back to an approximation of its former appearance. The Hessian Powder Magazine structure is an eloquent reminder of the enduring nature of the United States and its Army.
|Placed By||U.S. Army War College, Class of 2005|
|Marker Condition||No reports yet|
|Date Added||Sunday, October 5th, 2014 at 8:22am PDT -07:00|
|UTM (WGS84 Datum)||18T E 314627 N 4453013|
|Decimal Degrees||40.20705000, -77.17816667|
|Degrees and Decimal Minutes||N 40° 12.423', W 77° 10.69'|
|Degrees, Minutes and Seconds||40° 12' 25.38" N, 77° 10' 41.40" W|
|Driving Directions||Google Maps|
|Closest Postal Address||At or near 24-98 Guardhouse Ln, Carlisle PA 17013, US|
|Alternative Maps||Google Maps, MapQuest, Bing Maps, Yahoo Maps, MSR Maps, OpenCycleMap, MyTopo Maps, OpenStreetMap|
Have you seen this marker? If so, check in and tell us about it.