This historical building that is home to Pat O'Brien's Bar was built in 1791 as a private home that became the first Spanish Theater in the United States. It was later purchased by the Deflechie family as their residence until the building was purchased by Pat O'Brien.
Pat O'Brien ran a speakeasy on St. Peter Street until the repeal of Prohibition. He officially opened Pat O'Brien's Bar on December 3, 1933, located on the corner of Royal and St. Peter Streets. After Charlie Cantrell joined Mr. O'Brien, the business moved to the present location at 718 St. Peter Street. The famed Hurricane Drink originated at Pat O'Brien's in the early 1940's. Word spread quickly about the potent beverage and Pat O'Brien's Hurricane was an instant hit! Few things have changed over the year at 718 St. Peter. The Main Bar, Piano Bar and lush Patio Bar with flaming fire fountain maintain tradition while delighting customers from all walks of life. In 1990, 624 Bourbon Street was purchased primarily as a private event venue. Due to market demand Pat O's Courtyard Restaurant opened in 1996 on Bourbon Street and has been serving delicious food and specialty drinks ever since. By 1999, the necessity for a unique private party venue was apparent and Pat O's on the River in Jax Bewery opened for private parties.Pat O'Brien's will always be committed to quality, consistency, value and efficiency. We are very proud of our success, history, and dedicated employees. Thank you for being a part of New Orleans best.Have Fun!