This scenic Mississippi River site provided Native Americans food, shelter, and transportation for over 9,000 years. Count Frontenac, the Governor of New France, sponsored the first European explorers to this area in 1680. James (Bully) Wells established a fur trading post in 1840. In 1854, Evert Westervelt opened the first store in "Western Landing." Israel and Lewis Garrard brought resources and craftsmen to build an aristocratic frontier city and, in 1857 platted the town Westervelt.
The village was renamed Frontenac in 1859 and prospered in fur trading, logging, limestone, and hospitality. Frontenac, an early example of town planning, was named a National Historic District in 1971.
This monument is located in Valhalla Park, a bluff land park that borders the length of Garrard Avenue.
Enjoy historic Frontenac and the timeless solitude it offers its visitors and inhabitants.
Frontenac Heritage Preservation Commission - 2006