In 1924, when the park was first established, visitors for that year totaled 17,213. A remote locale, poor access, limited on-site accommodations, and few car owners allowed only the elite and the adventurous to come to Bryce Canyon. Twenty years later, this scenario would be quite different.
This Standard Oil service station, completed in 1948, was Bryce Canyon's response to its growing popularity. Tourists and their cars had increased by a factor of ten. As another twenty years passed, the concern of traffic congestion and the growing number of service stations outside of the park rendered the station obsolete. The station was closed in 1988, but is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, a testament to the past and the ever-changing future.