Meriden's Traffic Tower Erected on September 21, 1925, Meriden's Traffic Tower was an innovative traffic control device designed to provide safe travel for the vehicles and pedestrians of the growing city. The unique character of the tower quickly made it a local landmark and a symbol of the city.
The traffic tower's original location, a short distance north of this site was in an area rich in historical significance for both Meriden and Connecticut. One of the earliest colonial roads ran through the area that is now downtown Meriden and in 1784 Connecticut's first stage coach ran from Hartford to New Haven passing through Meriden from Cook Avenue to West Main Street and along Colony Street.
In the 1930's the Meriden Daily Journal ran a daily news column entitled "The Traffic Tower" indicating the tower's popularity as a city landmark. During World War II Meriden servicemen received a monthly "News From Home" bulletin which carried a picture of the traffic tower as a reminder of home.
On May 22, 1967, after 42 years of successful operation, the traffic tower was retired from service to make way for modern traffic control devices. However, the memories associated with the tower and the symbolic value it had gained remained in the hearts and minds of many. Accordingly, in 1974 the tower was purchased by Kogut Enterprises and renovated through the efforts of the Union - Parker Co. and the American National Bank. In 1981, through the efforts of the Pride in Meriden Committee, the traffic tower was replaced near its original location at the intersection of Colony and West Main Streets.
As part of Meriden's downtown revitalization the city has chosen to restore the traffic tower and provide it a place of dignity and prominence in the city's new downtown. From this place the traffic tower can continue to serve as an important symbol of the industry, innovation, values and community spirit of a city with a great past and a promising future.