The one hundred block of South Montezuma Street has long been known as "Whiskey Row" for the numerous saloons which once lined the street. As Prescott poet Gail Gardner once wrote of "Whiskey Row":"Oh they starts her in at the Kaintucky bar, At the head of Whiskey Row, And they winds up down by the Depot House, Some forth drinks below."
On July 14, 1900 this block was totally destroyed by fire. Within a few days of the fire, new construction was underway in brick and masonry. Most of the buildings on this block were constructed between the fall of 1900 and 1905 and include Sam'l Hill Hardware Company, the Highland Hotel, the Palace, the Levey Building and the Hotel St. Michael. All of these buildings are constructed with permanence and appearance in mind in styles typical of early 20th century buildings.
Some buildings were architecturally progressive, such as Sam'l Hill Hardware Company, or architecturally outstanding such as the Palace and the Hotel St. Michael. All preset a united front to the Courthouse Plaza, resulting in a unique turn-of-the century facade which is essentially intact today.