This camp ground, described by one journalist as "picturesque, rugged, simple, with an overhanging air of festivity," has hosted an annual camp meeting since 1876; slaves had worshipped here before the Civil War. The site was purchased in 1878 by trustees Carter Beaty, Charles Green, Jeff Gaither, Henry Hall, and John Hall. It was deeded to Camp Wellfair A.M.E. Zion Church in 1925.
The small wood-frame or cinder-block houses at Camp Welfare are typical of "tents" at church camp grounds. An early 20th century one-room school stood here until it closed in 1955. The site also includes Camp Wellfair A.M.E. Zion Church (built about 1930), an open-air arbor, and a cemetery. Camp Welfare was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1984.