First Secession Meeting Columns

First Secession Meeting Columns (HM7JG)

Location: Abbeville, SC 29620 Abbeville County
Country: United States of America

N 34° 10.617', W 82° 22.417'

  • 0 check ins
  • 0 favorites
"Lord God of Hosts, Be With Us Yet,
Lest We Forget, Lest We Forget

On the hillside in the rear of this memorial on November 22, 1860, the first organized secession meeting was held.

On that day the ancient artillery company, the Southern Rights Dragoons, and companies of minute-men from Abbeville, Greenwood, Cokesbury, Ninety-Six, Bradley, Due West, Donalds, Wickliffe, and Calhoun's Mill marched in line together with an immence concourse of loyal citizens; repairing to the grove. They there announced their intention of defending their soverign rights as guaranteed them in the Constitution of the United States.

Resolutions demanding the immediate withdrawal of the state from the Union were unanimously passed and representatives to the convention called by the legislature were nominated.

And thus, secession had its birth.

"Ah realm of tombs! But let her bear
This blazon to the last of times,
No Nation rose so white and fair,
Or fell so pure of crimes."

This Memorial
Was Erected by
Abbeville Chapter
United Daughters of the Confederacy
To commemorate the first organized meeting advocating the right of a state to secede from the Union.

This meeting was presided over by Thomas C. Perrin, with Judge D.L. Wardlaw, John A. Calhoun, Dr. J.W. Hearst, John Brownlee, Dr. J.H. Logan and J. Foster Marshall, vice presidents; James C. Calhoun and G McDuffie Miller, secretaries; A.M. Smith, W.M. Rogers and J.F. Livingston, Marshals of the Day.

After prayer by Rev. North, addresses were made by Hon. Thomas C. Perrin, Hon. A.C. McGrath, Gen. Milledge L. Bonham, Samuel McGowan, James N Cochran and William C Davis.

Edward Noble introduced resolutions of secession, which were advocated by Thomas Thomson and unanimously passed.

Thomas C. Perrin, Edward Noble, John A. Calhoun, Thomas Thomson, John H. Wilson, D.L. Wardlaw were nominated to represent the district at the convention called by the legislature.

November 22, 1860 November 22, 1927

"We have left the faith."
HM NumberHM7JG
Series This marker is part of the United Daughters of the Confederacy series
Year Placed1927
Placed ByAbbeville Chapter, United Daughters of the Confederacy
Marker ConditionNo reports yet
Date Added Thursday, October 9th, 2014 at 5:53pm PDT -07:00
Sorry, but we don't have a picture of this historical marker yet. If you have a picture, please share it with us. It's simple to do. 1) Become a member. 2) Adopt this historical marker listing. 3) Upload the picture.
Locationbig map
UTM (WGS84 Datum)17S E 373408 N 3782628
Decimal Degrees34.17695000, -82.37361667
Degrees and Decimal MinutesN 34° 10.617', W 82° 22.417'
Degrees, Minutes and Seconds34° 10' 37.02" N, 82° 22' 25.02" W
Driving DirectionsGoogle Maps
Area Code(s)864
Closest Postal AddressAt or near 300-308 Secession Ave, Abbeville SC 29620, US
Alternative Maps Google Maps, MapQuest, Bing Maps, Yahoo Maps, MSR Maps, OpenCycleMap, MyTopo Maps, OpenStreetMap

Is this marker missing? Are the coordinates wrong? Do you have additional information that you would like to share with us? If so, check in.

Check Ins  check in   |    all

Have you seen this marker? If so, check in and tell us about it.

Comments 0 comments

Maintenance Issues
  1. What historical period does the marker represent?
  2. What historical place does the marker represent?
  3. What type of marker is it?
  4. What class is the marker?
  5. What style is the marker?
  6. Does the marker have a number?
  7. This marker needs at least one picture.
  8. Can this marker be seen from the road?
  9. Is the marker in the median?