Fort Crévecoeur Abandoned(Front): In 1717, on this site, the French began erecting Fort Crévecoeur within Spanish domain. On February 8, 1718, Jean-Baptiste Lèmoyne de Bienville, acting Governor of Louisiana, dispatched his brother, Lèmoyne de Cháteagué to complete this Fort. By May 12, the French occupied St. Joseph's Bay. Cháteagué reported to Bienville completion, on the mainland, opposite St. Joseph Point, the stockaded Fort Crévecoeur with four bastions and garrisoned. Simultaneously Jean Pedro Matamoros de Ysla, Governor of Spanish Florida, at Pensacola, indignantly protested this usurpation as St. Joseph's Bay belonged to Spain by earlier discover and previous settlement.(Rear): The French Colonial Council, with unanimous decision decided to burn Fort Crévecoeur and abandon St. Joseph's Bay. On August 20, Spanish Captain, Joseph Primo De Rivera, reported to the Spanish Governorship, at St. Augustine, the French had retired from their invasion. Whereupon Rivera was ordered to command St. Joseph's Bay. By March 10, 1719, Don Gregorio de Salinas Varona had been transferred to the Spanish Governorship of St. Joseph's Bay.
Have you seen this marker? If so, check in and tell us about it.
|Placed By||Florida Board of Historic of Parks and Historic Memorials In Cooperation With The Gulf County Historical Commission|
|Marker Condition||No reports yet|
|Date Added||Tuesday, September 9th, 2014 at 9:34pm PDT -07:00|
|UTM (WGS84 Datum)||16R E 656758 N 3310264|
|Decimal Degrees||29.91310000, -85.37620000|
|Degrees and Decimal Minutes||N 29° 54.786', W 85° 22.572'|
|Degrees, Minutes and Seconds||29° 54' 47.1600" N, 85° 22' 34.3200" W|
|Driving Directions||Google Maps|
|Closest Postal Address||At or near 8259 W Hwy 98, Port Saint Joe FL 32456, US|
|Alternative Maps||Google Maps, MapQuest, Bing Maps, Yahoo Maps, MSR Maps, OpenCycleMap, MyTopo Maps, OpenStreetMap|