In 1882, the firm known as Coulter, Rogers and Company purchased this land and erected a large three story 'L' shaped building here for the purpose of producing wool blankets. By 1890 the firm was doing business as Muncy Woolen Mill and turning out 50,000 blankets a year.Dial and Discover Muncy's Walking Tour
[Center image caption reads]
Awarded ribbons during the World's Columbian Exposition held in Chicago, the mill was known for the quality of its blankets.
Early in 1929 the business closed but reopened in August as the Muncy Textile Company and the employees were making 300-400 blankets a day. Muncy Textile Company closed in 1932.
Beginning in 1937 until 1944, Glenbrook Mill operated from this site until the sale to Weldon Manufacturing. With employment reaching 350 in 1957, this pajama manufacturer was the second largest employer in Muncy. Weldon's closed their Muncy operation in 1960 and a year later Sprout Waldron bought the building for storage. The building was razed in 2013.
The [F]irst Baptist Church, built in 1842, sat on the northwest corner of High and Market Streets. It was sold to Muncy Woolen Mills in 1898 and razed.
The canal and then the railroad spur, offering its low-cost transportation, facilitated the growth of Muncy's new "merchants' class." Funded by Muncy's merchants, the "Muncy Cut"
allowed canal boats plying the West Branch Canal to directly access downtown Muncy.
The privately operated cross-cut canal ran nearly a mile from the Port Penn section, ending at the Woolen Mills Factory. Beyond the mill was the "Basin" or turnaround area of the "Muncy Cut" canal. L. B. Sprout relocated his business to Muncy for canal access.
(570) 208-3003 Stop #106