Muncy Normal and High School, erected in 1873, was an architectural masterpiece of its day! In its early catalogues it was described as "centrally located, and commands a magnificent view of the entire valley. The Susquehanna Water Gap, six miles below, and the North Mountain, twenty miles in the opposite direction, can be distinctly seen from its upper windows."Dial and Discover Muncy's Walking Tour
The curriculum of the school included: 1) teachers and normal; 2) college preparatory; and 3) business.
In 1908, the school needed more space so they acquired the former Lycoming Mutual Fire Insurance building on South Main Street, directly in front of the Normal School. The "Executive Building" offered additional classrooms, offices and a reading room.
Many of Muncy's homes operated as boarding places for out-of-town residents and were described in the school's catalogue as "good boarding and well-furnished rooms in pleasant homes in quiet parts of the town, at reasonable rates..." In 1911, rates were $3.50 per seven-day week; $2.50 to $3 per five-day-week.
About 1922, when the Muncy Normal School became a branch of the Mansfield State College, its function became primarily a teacher education institution until 1927.
The building continued in use as a grade and high school until 1932 when Muncy built its native stone school house on West Penn Street.
Seed and Grain
In 1938 the Normal School was razed to make way for Hoffman Seed and Grain Company. By processing corn and grain and selling across the East Coast, the mill remained in business until the latter part of the 20th Century.
The Hoffman Seed and Grain Co. had several storage facilities for collecting and processing seed corn that was shipped all over the northeast. When the plant was razed, the McCarty Apartments were built on the vacant lot.
(570) 308-3003 Stop #107