Frederick Town was strategically laid out along both sides of Carroll Creek in 1745 by Daniel Dulany, a prominent Annapolis land speculator. Like many colonial towns, the town creek would be the lifeblood of the community, provider of drinking and cooking water and key ingredient/power source for industry. Interestingly, Carroll Creek also marked a unique dividing or boundary line between socio-economic classes, and later, races. The town's wealthier residents generally lived north of the creek in close proximity to the county courthouse. With industry as the privileged class buffer, many lower class residents found themselves living south of the creek.
All Saints Street
This street was named for the town's first Episcopal parish and church structure which once stood across the creek. In 1814, the bulk of the white congregation moved to a new location built closer to the courthouse. Four years later, Old Hill Church would be constructed — a place where both whites and blacks would worship together in the Methodist Episcopal faith tradition. In 1864, Black residents took full possession of the church, and in 1868 this would be incorporated as Asbury Methodist Episcopal Church. Old Hill Church served the community until 1921 at which time a new church was built two blocks to the west. By 1900, All Saints Street
would grow into the hub of Frederick's African-American community. Segregated Frederick caused need for "separate" commercial and entertainment offerings. It was here that residents from around Frederick County could meet their needs in relation to banking, medical care, grocery shopping, clothing, beauty parlors, restaurants, live entertainment and even undertaking.