John H. Reagan

John H. Reagan (HM284E)

Location: Big Lake, TX 76932 Reagan County
Buy Texas State flags at!
Country: United States of America
Buy United States of America flags at!

N 31° 11.486', W 101° 27.696'

  • 0 check ins
  • 0 favorites

This County Named in 1903 For

—(First Chairman of Railroad Commission of Texas) —

As congressman, 1876-1887, sponsored bill creating Interstate Commerce Commission; resigned 1891 from United States Senate to head newly-formed Railroad Commission, modeled after I.C.C., and created to regulate shipping rates and practices.
In his term, 1891-1903, railway transportation of petroleum became important in Texas, the Commission was given jurisdiction in 1917 over pipelines. This led to formation of the oil and gas division.
The Legislature made the Commission responsible in 1919 for oil and gas conservation. Probation began in 1920s. Complete regulation came in the 1930s with 1,700,000-barrel-a-day production in East Texas.
Commission policies were acclaimed when in World War II Texas was able to supply the allies with great stores of oil necessary for victory.
The Commission's goal is to prevent waste and protect oil and gas reserves by orderly regulation of exploration, production and transportation.
Such men as chairman Reagan have set high ethical standards that have continued in the Commission, causing it to merit the confidence of the people and of the petroleum industry.
(See other side for names of all commission members)
Inscribed on back of marker: Members of the Railroad Commission of Texas
* John H. Reagan 1891-1903
Wm. P. McLean 1891-1894

L. McForster 1891-1895
* L. J. Storey 1894-1909
N. A. Steadman 1895-1897
*Allison Mayfield 1897-1923
O. B. Colquitt 1903-1911
Wm. D. Williams 1909-1916
John L. Wortham 1911-1913
Earle B. Mayfield 1913-1923
Charles H. Hurdleston 1916-1918
* Clarence E. Gilmore 1919-1929
N. A. Nabors 1923-1925
W. M. W. Splawn 1923-1924
* C. V. Terrell 1924-1939
* Lon A. Smith 1925-1941
* Pat M. Neff 1929-1932
* Ernest O. Thompson 1932-1965
Jerry Sadler 1939-1942
* Olin Culberson 1941-1961
* Beauford Jester 1942-1947
* Wm. J. Murray Jr. 1947-1963
* Ben Ramsey 1961-
Jim C. Langdon 1963-
Byron Tunnell 1965-
* Chairmen
Incise in base: Commemorative series on Texas Railroad Commission. Erected in Cooperation with Abell-Hangar Foundation, 1966.
HM NumberHM284E
Year Placed1966
Placed ByTexas State Historical Survey Committee
Marker ConditionNo reports yet
Date Added Monday, June 4th, 2018 at 1:01pm PDT -07:00
Sorry, but we don't have a picture of this historical marker yet. If you have a picture, please share it with us. It's simple to do. 1) Become a member. 2) Adopt this historical marker listing. 3) Upload the picture.
Locationbig map
UTM (WGS84 Datum)14R E 265437 N 3453428
Decimal Degrees31.19143333, -101.46160000
Degrees and Decimal MinutesN 31° 11.486', W 101° 27.696'
Degrees, Minutes and Seconds31° 11' 29.16" N, 101° 27' 41.76" W
Driving DirectionsGoogle Maps
Area Code(s)325
Which side of the road?Marker is on the right when traveling East
Closest Postal AddressAt or near 400-404 US-67, Big Lake TX 76932, US
Alternative Maps Google Maps, MapQuest, Bing Maps, Yahoo Maps, MSR Maps, OpenCycleMap, MyTopo Maps, OpenStreetMap

Is this marker missing? Are the coordinates wrong? Do you have additional information that you would like to share with us? If so, check in.

Check Ins  check in   |    all

Have you seen this marker? If so, check in and tell us about it.

Comments 0 comments

Maintenance Issues
  1. Is this marker part of a series?
  2. What historical period does the marker represent?
  3. What historical place does the marker represent?
  4. What type of marker is it?
  5. What class is the marker?
  6. What style is the marker?
  7. Does the marker have a number?
  8. This marker needs at least one picture.
  9. Can this marker be seen from the road?
  10. Is the marker in the median?