On Memorial Day, May 31, 1897, the Babylon Women's Exchange presented the Village with an "enduring memorial" to their charitable work. With the last $400 remaining in the treasury, it was decided to purchase a drinking fountain for man and beast. It stood ten feet tall and stood on the southwest corner of Fire Island Avenue and Main Street. The fate of the fountain is a matter of historic record. It was removed in June of 1917 and replaced on July 4th with the "Liberty Pole", a flagpole that marked the country's entrance into the First World War.Dedicated Memorial Day, May 30, 2011
This reproduction stands as a tribute to the work of the Women's Exchange, and all charitable and service organizations in the Babylon Village.
Dr. Christopher Proto · Judy Driscoll Skillen
This historic reproduction would would not have been possible without the help and cooperation of the people of Ligonier, Pennsylvania.
(Donors names omitted - see photo for details)