The first Natchitoches Parish Courthouse was built on this site about 1828. It was demolished in 1895 to allow for the present historic courthouse, which was built in 1896. The courthouse cost $20,555 to build. This Richardsonian Romanesque structure has housed the offices of clerk of court, the assessor, the sheriff, the school board, the judge, and a courtroom.
In 1933, the attic, courtroom, and tower clock were extensively damaged by fire. In 1979, the old building was restored, as near as possible, to its original appearance.
This building houses a museum of the rich history of Natchitoches Parish and its people. The museum opened in July, 1996 on the 100th birthday of the courthouse.