St. Lawrence University's original gymnasium was built in 1896 where Gunnison Memorial Chapel stands today. When the old gym burned in May 1925, construction of the Brewer Field House son began. Named for Charles S. Brewer (class of 1891), the building was home to the university's basketball and wrestling programs, as well as many dances and other events fpr almost 45 years. Basketball was played in the Brewer Field House from 1926-1969. Spectators liked to dangle their feet over the edge of the stands, especially in the winter, when wet shoes would drip down onto the away team's bench. The opening of the Augsbury Athletic Center in 1970 mothballed the feld house and it was used for little more than storage for many years. In 1999, with a major campus building program in the works, Brewer was repurposed into a unique campus bookstore that retained the exterior ans a few interior elements of the old field house, including the original gym floor and a portion of the bleachers. Parents and other visitors to the Brwer Bookstore often comment on its unique atmosphere and variety of merchandise. "Charlie" Snow Brewer, class of 1891, was an athlete, a longtime member of the oard of Trustees, and served on many committees to improve his beloved alma mater. For example, he helped with the Athletic Advisory Board and the Million Dollar Campaign, which resulted in SLU's tremendous growth in the 1920s.