The King Iron Bowstring Bridge was designed by Zenas King and built in the 1870s. Before he founded the King Bridge Company in Cleveland, Ohio, Zenas King lived and worked in the Depeyster area of St. Lawrence County. One of a very few bowstring bridges that remain in service in New York State, this bridge, 75 feet long and 13 feet wide, was the link between the industries that operated on Falls Island and the Village of Canton. Teams of horses used to bring in loads of raw materials, including grains such as barley, oats, and wheat, logs of white pine, hemlock and various hardwoods, apples, and wool. Wagons left the island loaded with flour, cattle feed, lumber, building supplies, apple cider, yarn, and hardware products. By restoring this bridge, Grasse River Heritage has saved the heart of Canton's early history. The engineering firm, the contractor, and bridge restoration crews worked to insure that the restoration was for the most part true to the original design and construction techniques of this unique bridge. How does the bowstring truss bridge actually work? The load of this bridge is carried by the arch. The weight is trust downward and vertically. The lower chord comes under tension, allowing the footings to take only vertical forces. All of the parts work together to create a bridge that is simple, light weight, dynamic, and elegant. L.H. Evert's "History of St. Lawrence County," 1878. The two bowstring bridges shown over the east channel were never built. "The King Iron Bridge in Winter" Fred Ashley photo, ca 1975. Canton Town and Village Historian's Office "A Rare View of a Rare Bridge, 2004" "Welding and Painting Completed, the Bridge Returns, September 28, 2007." The King Iron Bowstring Bridge Heading Home, September 28, 2007."