The Blacksburg Motor Company building was built by Robert and Mason Heavener, two well-respected Blacksburg businessmen. Robert Heavener was a prominent citizen serving on Town Council and the National Bank of Blacksburg Board of Directors.
The art deco features of the building include terrazzo ﬂoors, arched woodwork, and tin ceilings. A 1942 article announcing the construction of the Motor Company noted a unique feature for tourists - a ladies' restroom. The building burned in 1933, but was quickly rebuilt with an addition to the original structure. It served various functions relating to the automobile including a ﬁlling station, repair shop, dealership, and tire store until 2007.
The building was purchased by the Town of Blacksburg in April 2007 and renovated as space for municipal services. This historic rehabilitation, low impact development, and green building techniques earned the Town of Blacksburg the Platinum Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) certification.(captions)
(left) Blacksburg Motor Company ca. 1960's
(right) filling station detail ca. 1960's
(right) During the 1933 Fire