The Taftsville Covered Bridge is a rare example of early vernacular wooden truss covered bridges in the United States. All evidence indicates the builder, a longtime Taftsville resident named Solomon Emmons III, used no existing patented bridge truss designs, and that the design and construction techniques are unique. Constructed entirely of local wood and stone in 1836, at a cost of $1800, it is the oldest covered bridge in Windsor County, and the third oldest in the state. At approximately 189 feet in length at the floor, and 200 feet at the roof, it is the second longest covered bridge in Vermont. On August 28, 2011, Tropical Storm Irene devastated the south abutment, closing the bridge for two years while extensive repairs and restoration efforts were made.