The Historic Coconut Grove Cemetery was first used as a graveyard for the Grove's Bahamian settlers in 1906. The community's original cemetery was a small lot opened by the city in 1904 on what is now the 3500 block of Charles Avenue. That site was judged by the town leaders to be too small to accommodate the needs of the growing population and the cemetery was moved to its present location. Because of the upset caused by moving the cemetery, the "Coconut Grove Colored Cemetery Association" was formed to take over the responsibility for the yard. In 1913, five families purchased the property for $140.00 as trustees for the Association. These families were the Burrows, Higgs, Reddick, Ross and E.W.F. Stirrup families, all of whom were local civic leaders. Many of Coconut Groves' Bahamian pioneers are buried in this cemetery. Joseph Mayor who owned the bicycle shop is buried here, as are Daniel Anderson, a Bahamian seaman and his wife Catherine who was one of the founders of Christ Episcopal Church. Captain John Sweeting, a successful developer and commercial fisherman, and his family are also here. Many more of the original settlers of the Grove may also rest in this cemetery in the numerous unmarked graves. Some of the markers in this cemetery are unique to South Florida. The twelve anthropomorphic or "head and shoulders" stones are found no where else in Dade County. They reflect Bahamian background and rich African American culture of the neighborhood. Today the cemetery is still cared for by the Coconut Grove Cemetery Association and is recognized as an historic site.