The Glasgow Municipal Cemetery is situated on what was originally farmland on the outskirts of town, owned by the Depp and Lynn families. This cemetery is Glagow's third public burying ground. Glasgow's first graveyard was located behind the First Presbyterian Church on the corner of East Washington Street and Broadway; that burial ground was moved in the late 1920's. The second graveyard was located on West Cherry Street.
This cemetery was originally incorporated by the Odd Fellows Lodge during Glasgow's building boom following the Civil War. The older portion of the cemetery was laid out in the popular Victorian park-like style, with curving drives, family plots enclosed with stone curbing, a picturesque plantings of trees and shrubs. The 19th century mindset was that cemeteries should be places of beauty, suitable for carriage rides, strolls, and even picnicking. During this period the cemetery was known as the Odd Fellows Cemetery. In the early 20th century, the City of Glasgow assumed ownership and management of the enterprise and it has since been known as Glasgow Municipal Cemetery.
From the stone entrance gates visitors will note the limestone columns at the site of the Veteran's Memorial. The columns were originally part of the fa?ade of the New Farmers National Bank on the East Public Square. The beautiful landscaped meadow at the entrance of the cemetery is the handiwork of the Glasgow Garden Club, a project of many years dedication.
At the rear of the cemetery property is historic Fort Williams, a restored Civil War fortification.