219, 221, 223 W. Miner St.223 Once a separate building owned by L. Rosenburg, this former dry goods store was turned into a hotel when W.W. Powers bought it and rebuilt after the Great Conflagration of 1871. A bootblack stand within catered to the menfolk of Yreka. When Morrison and Lash added the upper story in 1896, the oriel windows became a unique and handsome feature of Miner Street's western architecture. From a butcher shop to a soda fountain, saloon and jewelry store, the businesses came and went until Con Brown's Billiard Parlor resided at this location for 24 years, the moved next door (east) in 1926.
|Placed By||City of Yreka|
|Marker Condition||No reports yet|
|Date Added||Saturday, September 6th, 2014 at 5:09am PDT -07:00|
|UTM (WGS84 Datum)||10T E 530184 N 4620064|
|Decimal Degrees||41.73181667, -122.63705000|
|Degrees and Decimal Minutes||N 41° 43.909', W 122° 38.223'|
|Degrees, Minutes and Seconds||41° 43' 54.54" N, 122° 38' 13.38" W|
|Driving Directions||Google Maps|
|Closest Postal Address||At or near 227 W Miner St, Yreka CA 96097, US|
|Alternative Maps||Google Maps, MapQuest, Bing Maps, Yahoo Maps, MSR Maps, OpenCycleMap, MyTopo Maps, OpenStreetMap|
Have you seen this marker? If so, check in and tell us about it.