(obverse)(Continued on other side)
The home was built in 1857 by the founder of Hurtsboro, Joel Hurt, Sr. (1813-1861) and his wife, Lucy Long Hurt (1822-1915). Their saw mill, constructed near Hurtsboro Creek, provided lumber for the home and surrounding community. With the addition of the Mobile & Girard Railroad, the town of Hurtsboro was established and flourished. One of the Hurt's eleven children, Joel Hurt, Jr. (1850-1926) resided here as a child and later played a major role in the architectural development of Atlanta, Georgia. The home was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2005.
(Continued from other side)The one story Greek Revival asymmetrical structure presents an expansive front porch with nine columns and a connecting north porch with three columns. The home received significant updating and Edwardian decoration in 1906 including the ornate varnished entrance portal with double doors. An elegant central hallway features pressed tin covered ceiling and walls accented with paired ionic wood columns on paneled bases connected by carved wood valences. The home was fully renovated in 2002 while preserving its unique charm and architecture.