The Victorian Inn was built in 1890 with completion in 1891, and known as the Russ Building. The structure was originally built to house the Ferndale Bank with the Ferndale Enterprise Newspaper following. There were 33 rooms on the second floor; single rooms and suites. The amenities of the era included bathrooms, water closets and fireplaces. There were many stores including the Humbolt County Bank, the Ferndale Bank, and later the Russ-Williams Bank which became a part of the Bank of America in 1935. This building is a Stick Style Eastlake Victorian. The windows and bracketing are Italianate in style. The foundation is a solid brick two feet at the bottom and one foot at the top. It is still in place today. The master carpenter and architect of the building was T.J. Frost. He also did the Masonic Temple and the Gazebo in town to mention a few. There were numerous wrought iron hitching posts with horse heads along Francis Street and Ocean Avenue, some of which are evident today. The structure survived 3 large earthquakes in 1992 and is a testament to its durable, steadfast endurance.Dedicated February 9, 2013
On February 13, 1891, the Ferndale Enterprise stated most eloquently that the Victorian Inn (Russ Building) "...it is one of the handsomest buildings, both outside and in, that stands in the State to-day."
By the Native Sons of the Golden West
Allan M. Baird, Grand President
Ferndale Parlor No. 93 NSGW