The U.S. Army established Fort Graham in this area in 1849. Although the fort closed in 1853, the presence of the troops stationed there had prompted the development of settlements throughout this part of Hill County. By 1860, James Monroe and Martha Louisa (George) Neal moved to this immediate area with their family, and the Elm Mott community developed around their property. Over the years, the Neal family donated land to local residents on which to build a school, teacher housing, a Methodist church, a tabernacle and a Woodmen of the World hall. The turn in the road known as Community Corner was the settlement's social center, and Elm Mott became the central stop between the communities of Whitney and Blum, established as railroad towns in 1876 and 1881, respectively. In the early 1880s, widower Jehu Gist moved to Elm Mott with his sisters and children and opened a general store that served the dispersed agricultural community. He later applied for a post office, which required that he find a unique name for the town. After several suggestions, the postal service approved the name Huron, the name of Gist's youngest son. The post office operated in the Gist store from 1897 to 1904. In the early part of the 20th century, the Huron School served about 200 students, and area residents supported three church congregations. Huron students consolidated into Blum and Whitney districts in 1949, but Cedar Creek Baptist Church, established in 1888, remains a spiritual and social center, as well as a gathering place for area residents and for descendants of early Huron families.