Historical Marker Search

You searched for State: tx

Showing results 1 to 10 of 4843
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM25DM_schertz-historic-site_New-Braunfels-TX.html
The original Catholic settlers of Comal Village longed for their own place of worship and school. Peter Ignatz Wenzel donated 3 acres of land for the construction of a school and a chapel. A one room school was built in December 1868 and an expand…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM258Z_st-barbaras-catholic-church_Mingus-TX.html
Most of Thurber's immigrant population, representing eighteen nationalities, were Catholic. Missionary priests ministered to the town until 1892, then the coal company erected a Catholic church at the bottom of Graveyard Hill. Originally named St.…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM258Y_new-york-hill_Mingus-TX.html
This area of Thurber developed after 1917, when the Texas and Pacific Coal Company expanded into the burgeoning oil industry following W.K. Gordon's discovery of the Ranger oil field. Renamed in 1918, the Texas Pacific Coal and Oil Company brought…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM258X_site-of-thurber-brick-plant_Mingus-TX.html
Texas and Pacific Coal Company general manager W.K. Gordon, seeing potential in the shale mud found in Thurber, persuaded company president R.D. Hunter to build a brick plant here in 1897. Original machinery included three Ross-Keller brick presse…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM258W_site-of-thurbers-first-coal-mine_Mingus-TX.html
Two hundred yards southeast of this site, at the base of the hill and at a depth of 65 feet, the first coal mine in this area was placed in operation by brothers William W. and Harvey E. Johnson. After Harvey's death in 1888, and because of labor …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM258V_whitehead-cemetery_Mingus-TX.html
The Whitehead Cemetery is a significant reminder of the African American community that occupied the Thurber townsite in the early 20th century. When the Texas and Pacific Coal and Oil Company relocated its offices to Fort Worth in 1933, several f…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM255S_last-mob-lynching-in-the-state-of-texas_Eastland-TX.html
At this site, on Tuesday night, Nov. 19, 1929, Marshall Ratliff was hung from a utility pole guy wire until dead before a crowd of about 1,500 people. Ratliff was also known as the Santa Claus Robber for his dressing as Santa Claus and leading a g…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM255R_connellee-majestic-theatre_Eastland-TX.html
Built in 1920 by C.U. Connellee, the "Father of Eastland", this theatre hosted numerous road shows, musical performances, and plays, and was a noted showplace for many years. Purchased by Interstate Theatres in 1946, the building was rem…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM255Q_eastland-county-world-war-i-memorial-a-war-memorial_Eastland-TX.html
Erected by Civic League in memory of those from Eastland Co who made supreme sacrifice in World War Lewis Alexander Dulin · Dennis George Perdue · Winter Daniels · James Lee Miller · James B. Wright ·…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM255N_first-united-methodist-church-of-eastland_Eastland-TX.html
Methodist worship services were held in Eastland County as early as 1865. Soon after the town of Eastland was laid out in 1875, Methodists began meeting in a small log house. The congregation was organized and served for a time by the Rev. Melvill…
PAGE 1 OF 485