Historical Marker Search

You searched for State: tn

Showing results 1 to 10 of 3294
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM231K_james-h-quillen-united-states-courthouse_Greeneville-TN.html
The United States District Court of Tennessee was established in 1797, one year after Tennessee became a state. Initially,one federal judge, John McNairy, served the entire state. The state was later subdivided into two, and then later three feder…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM22NC_wheeler-school_Lebanon-TN.html
Wheeler School, a one room school, was built in the late 1860's on the farm currently owned by the Harrison Family near Alexandria. Mr. W. E. B. DuBois became the first instructor at the school. In fact, it was the beginning of his long successful…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM22NB_tates-crossing-flag-station_Lebanon-TN.html
This Train Flag Station was in use at Tates Crossing near Mt. Juliet, Tennessee from 1870 until 1935. During this 65 years it was owned by two different railroads, The Tennessee and Pacific Railroad and the Nashville Chattanooga and St. Louis Rail…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM22NA_tuckers-gap-depot_Lebanon-TN.html
John Bell Tarver donated the rights-of-way on his farm for the railroad and also the land on which the depot was built in c-1870. Mr. Tarver was the Postmaster at the Post Office, which was located inside the depot, until his death in 1906. Nanni…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM22N0_forbes-cabin_Lebanon-TN.html
The community of Shop Springs was established in the early 1800's, having a group of stores, blacksmith shops, school, churches, physician, and a cooper shop. This cabin was built during this era of development, on a hill overlooking the businesse…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM22MZ_melrose-church_Lebanon-TN.html
Melrose Presbyterian Church was built in 1883; held its first worship service in 1885 and closed the doors at the last worship service 102 years later in 1980. The building is constructed of poplar wood grown and milled in Wilson County. The or…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM22MY_mr-luthers-blacksmith-shop-and-broom-factory_Lebanon-TN.html
Mr. Luther's Blacksmith Shop and Broom Factory sat on the bank of Cedar Creek in the heart of the village of Taylorsville. The blacksmith shop was built c. 1836. Mr. Luther Piercey became the proprietor in the early 1900's and served the community…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM22MW_pete-smiths-store_Lebanon-TN.html
Pete Smith opened his original store August 1, 1927, when cokes were a nickel a bottle, a gallon of gas cost 14 cents plus 6 cents tax and T.O. "Pete" Smith drove a Model T Ford pickup when he went into business at Doak's Cross Roads. He opened th…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM22MU_peyton-smokehouse_Lebanon-TN.html
The smokehouse originally stood on the Wharton Place three miles Southeast of Lebanon on Sparta Pike. Jesse Wharton of Davidson County bought the 912 acre farmland in 1811 from John Gray Blount of North Carolina. Jesse deeded the farm to his son, …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM22MT_stewart-cabin_Lebanon-TN.html
William Brannon Barrow built this cabin in 1795. According to family records, the land was one of the last Land Grants issued from North Carolina prior to the Statehood of Tennessee in 1796. The cedar log cabin changed ownership many times and th…
PAGE 1 OF 330