Historical Marker Search

You searched for Postal Code: 30120

Showing results 1 to 10 of 29
Prior to the Civil War the state did not provide for public education. Consequently, the settlers in the Stilesboro community decided to erect an academy for the education of their children. A public subscription raised $5,000 to erect the school.…
On this site from 1844-1879 stood the plantation of Maj. John Sharpe Rowland and Frances Lewis Rowland. The plantation comprised some 2,500 acres. Rowland's Ferry was located just northeast of here at the mouth of Pettit's Creek. The Rowlands also…
Killed in Action - 9 November 1967 - Republic of Vietnam PFC Gentry was a crew member of an M113 Armored Personnel Carrier assigned to B Troop, 1st Squadron, 1st Cavalry, of the Americal Division in the Republic of Vietnam. While engaged in an …
In Memory & In Honor of Those Who Serve And Protect Our Great Country This memorial given by Frank Perkins, Cartersville Monument Co & Steve Owen, Owen Funeral Home 9-11-2003
Has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places By the United States Department of the Interior
Lawyer, U.S. Attorney for District of Georgia, 1869-70; U.S. Attorney General, 1870-71. Born Portsmouth, N.H., February 23, 1821; died in Cartersville, Georgia, December 21, 1880; buried Oak Hill Cemetery. Served as Confederate soldier in Georgia …
On May 1, 1866 a special election was held in Plumas County to issue bonds in the sum of $20,000 for the construction of the La Porte - Quincy Wagon Road. The 34-1/2 mile road was completed in 1867 under the supervision of E.H. Pierce by Conly and…
This site was donated by Arnold Milner, owner of a farm on the Etowah River, to be used for a church and cemetery for his family and friends. Friendship Presbyterian Church held its first services here on February 26, 1843. The church met here unt…
333 marked graves in 2001Jim Scott 1871Hett Powell 1890
Four miles east, in the gorge of the Etowah River, are the picturesque ruins of the once flourishing town of Etowah, developed by Mark Cooper around his iron furnace and rolling mill. The furnace was built in 1844, following one built in 1837 on S…