Historical Marker Search

You searched for Postal Code: 22015

Showing results 1 to 7 of 7
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1RQ3_copperthite-racetrack_Burke-VA.html
In 1897 Henry Copperthite, a Georgetown businessman, purchased Silas Burke's farm. In 1907 he constructed, according to a newspaper account, the "very best" harness racing facility "of its kind in the country." The grandstand, which opened on 4 Ju…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1NX2_burkes-station_Burke-VA.html
During the Civil War, African American laborers chopped wood and conveyed it to Burke's Station, a major Federal timber transportation station located here on the Orange & Alexandria Railroad. To supply the Union army and engineers with timber for…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1KEM_burkes-station_Burke-VA.html
After the Battle of Fredericksburg in December 1862, most of Confederate Gen. Robert E. Lee's Army of Northern Virginia settled into winter quarters except for Gen. J.E.B. Stuart's cavalry, which instead went on the move. Wade Hampton, Fitzhugh Le…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1IAO_the-huldah-coffer-house_Burke-VA.html
Built ca. 1876 for Huldah Coffer, this house was constructed on farmland that had been in the locally prominent Coffer family since the 18th century. Widows at age 22, Coffer became a farmer, growing wheat, oats, and Indian corn and raising a mode…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM27T_silas-burke-house_Burke-VA.html
Here lived Lt. Col. Silas Burke (b.1796-d.1854) and his wife, Hannah Coffer. Burke, for whom Burke's Station on the Orange and Alexandria Railroad was named, served as a director of the railroad and the Fairfax Turnpike Company. An innkeeper and f…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM4D_burke-station_Burke-VA.html
Burke Station was raided in December, 1862, by Confederate General J.E.B. Stuart. It was from this site, originally Burke Station Depot, that he sent his famous telegram to Union Quartermaster General Meigs complaining of the poor quality of the U…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM1X_lee-chapel-church_Burke-VA.html
On this site stood Lee Chapel, a Methodist Episcopal Church, built 1871 and named in honor of General Robert E. Lee. Lee Chapel replaced Mount Carmel Church which had been located at Ox Road and present day Lee Chapel Road and had been destroyed b…
PAGE 1 OF 1