Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State|Country: , ca us

Showing results 1 to 10 of 19
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2AE5_site-of-first-adobe-home-lake-county_Kelseyville-CA.html
Built by Charles Stone and Andy Kelsey on land purchased from Salvador Vallejo. Constructed by forced Indian labor, causing much resentment and culminating in murder by Indians of both Stone and Kelsey in the fall of 1849. Their remains are beneat…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM2A5S_lake-county-courthouse_Lakeport-CA.html
Lake County's century-old classic courthouse, designed by A.P. Pettit in 1871, served as the seat of county government from 1871 until 1968 when it was replaced by the new courthouse. Among the court's landmark cases were the White Cap murders, a …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM15II_leagues-store_Upper-Lake-CA.html
League's Store, destroyed in the fire of 1924, housed the beginnings of both the Odd Fellows Hall and the Harriet Lee Hammond Library. The post office moved here when the library opened in 1916. The Griner Brothers eventually built and relocated t…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM11H6_the-ioof-hall_Upper-Lake-CA.html
The International Order of Odd Fellows Lodge #241 established themselves in Upper Lake in 1876. The present structure was completed in 1898 at a cost for land and building of $3,109.02. This mutual aid society hosted numerous activities through th…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMXAH_the-ice-house_Upper-Lake-CA.html
This site stared as a Meat Market in 1906, then became the Ice House. Ice was originally brought down from the "ice pond" in the hills and stored at the Ice House. Later it was manufactured here at the Ice Plant in 300 pound blocks that were s…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMX4U_diamond-match-lumber-co_Upper-Lake-CA.html
The original building was destroyed in the fire of 1924. Six months later the present building opened as a hardware store. It has the pressed concrete walls and pressed tin ceiling typical of fire measures taken when the town was rebuilt. As ea…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMX3G_the-tallman-hotel_Upper-Lake-CA.html
Sometime before 1874, Rufus Tallman and his wife Mary Ellen established the Tallman Hotel on this site. When it burnt down in 1895, they rebuilt. The name was changed to Riffe's Hotel when their daughter Winnyford and their son-in-law Hank Riffe t…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMX1M_the-livery-stable_Upper-Lake-CA.html
This was one of three livery stables in Upper Lake in the 1880's. As far back as 1870, Upper Lake was the terminus of both the Cloverdale and Clearlake stage lines, bringing tourists to the famous mineral waters of Witter Springs, Saratoga Springs…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMWMQ_harriet-lee-hammond-library_Upper-Lake-CA.html
This redwood paneled craftsman style building was constructed in 1916. The architect was no less than the nephew of Henry Wordsworth Longfellow. Members of the community donated time and money to build the library. Most notable of the donators was…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HMSEQ_lower-lake-schoolhouse_Lower-Lake-CA.html
Built by Leslie P. Nichols and brother in 1877, it was the only schoolhouse in the county made of bricks from a local kiln. The school was two stories high. The top floor was used as the town hall, and school was held on the lower floor. It housed…
PAGE 1 OF 2