You searched for City|State: knoxville, tn
Showing results 1 to 10 of 76
Although no permanent villages of campsites were located on this site prior to the arrival of settlers, this property was part of the tribal lands of the Cherokee Nation.
In the late 1800's and early 1900's, this property was used as pasture fo…
Washington's Chief of Artillery in the Revolutionary War. Secretary of War in Washington's Cabinet. One of the founders and first secretary of the Society of the Cincinnati.
Nicholas Bartlett built a mill 300 ft. downstream about 1785. When Blount County was created in 1795, its mill-pond was a turning point from the Stock Creek boundary to run toward Bay's Mountain. The mill was used as a fort in the Indian troubles …
Upon this spot stood the house of Alexander Cavett who was murdered together with two men and the Cavett family of twelve, September 25th, 1793, after heroic resistance against a combined Creek and Cherokee force numbering one thousand warriors, t…
1st Field Artillery Battery D 2nd Division
Born July 17th 1892 Killed in Action April 8th 1918 Ranzier, France
The first to give his life for Knox County World War I
Erected by the American Legion Knoxville Post No. 2
June 20, 1949
This building was used as a hospital for Confederate forces from their occupation of Knoxville until September, 1863; thereafter similarly by the Federals. It was formerly the main building for the Tennessee School for the Deaf, which was located …
This liberal arts institution was opened in Knoxville by the United Presbyterian Church in 1875. It crowns the ridge from which the main batteries of Lt. James Longstreet's attacking force shelled the Federal Fort Sanders about 1800 yards to the s…
"To those who fought for it, life has a special meaning that the protected will never know...". Written on a C-Ration box Khe Sahn RNV 1967 or 68 Unknown U S Warrior Author.
The American Veterans of Foreign Wars - AMVETS - erect this monument t…
The first Cumberland Presbyterian Congregation in East Tennessee was organized c. 1822 and given the name Concord. The church building, often referred to as the "Old Meeting House", was located 2 miles SE of the present town of Concord just off We…
Colonel David Campbell Born 1753 - 1832
* David Campbell donated the land for Pleasant Forest Cemetery.
David Campbell and Archibald McCaleb settled Campbell Station on March 7, 1787. By 1798 a small church and school was erected on the Colo…