Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State: college station, tx

Showing results 1 to 10 of 15
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM29JM_chemistry-building_College-Station-TX.html
The Chemistry Building (1929) was designed by S. C. P. Vosper, using classical design proportions and details. It was extended to the east in 1981 and 1988. The ornamentation uses a variety of color schemes in tile patterns inspired from the art o…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM29JL_williams-administration-building_College-Station-TX.html
The Williams Building (1932) was designed by architect S. C. P. Vosper in a classical revival style as the headquarters for the Texas A&M System. The building faced the new state highway symbolizing the shift from train to automobile travel. The …
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM29JK_nagle-hall_College-Station-TX.html
Nagle Hall is one of the oldest buildings on campus, constructed in 1909 as the Civil Engineering building. Renamed in 1929 for James C. Nagle, the first dean of the School of Engineering. The design maintains the campus' distinct classical archit…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM29JJ_academic-building_College-Station-TX.html
The Academic Building (1914) was designed by campus architect Frederick E. Giesecke, '86 and Samuel E. Gideon, after Old Main was destroyed by fire in 1912. The beaux-arts classical design is a four-storied reinforced concrete structure faced with…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM29JI_history-building_College-Station-TX.html
The History Building was erected in 1922 as the Agriculture Building and housed the Dean of Agriculture for about ten years. Architect E. B. La Roche used a classical revival style with a strong base, rusticated brick main floor, and two-story eng…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM29JH_k-k-legett-hall-centennial_College-Station-TX.html
Built in 1911, Legett Hall is the oldest residence hall on campus and one of two remaining along Military Walk. Named for Judge Kirvin Kade Legett (1857-1926) of Abilene, President of the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Texas Board of Direc…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM29JG_sbisa-dining-hall_College-Station-TX.html
Sbisa Dining Hall (1913) was designed by campus architect Frederick E. Giesecke to replace the castle-like 1897 mess hall that burned in 1911. It anchors the north end of Military Walk whose south terminus was Guion Assembly Hall (1918-1971). A on…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM29JF_francis-hall_College-Station-TX.html
Rolland Adelsperger, College Architect and Professor of Architecture and Architectural Engineering designed Francis Hall in a highly distinctive romanesque style in 1913 for the School of Veterinary Medicine. The proposed design exceeded the budg…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM291B_main-drill-field-texas-a-m-university_College-Station-TX.html
Texas A&M University opened in October 1876 and established the Corps of Cadets to fulfill its Congressional mandate to teach military tactics. The students at what was then an all-male institution were required to serve in the corps and follow mi…
historicalmarkerproject/markers/HM291A_texas-a-m-corps-of-cadets_College-Station-TX.html
Soon after its opening in 1876, the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Texas (Texas A&M) established the Corps of Cadets to fulfill its mandate to instruct its students (all-male until the early 1960s) in military science. A&M contributed more…
PAGE 1 OF 2