Once the site of a Forestville School, this building has served the citizens of the Great Falls community for a century.
Constructed alongside the Georgetown Pike in 1889, the school consisted of one room until 1911 when a second building, the Floris Elementary School, was added to the original. After 1922, the structure was successively used as a residence, realty office, bank, and public library. During the 1950s, the building was purchased and used by members of the nearby Grange whose social events, carnivals and benefits supported the interests of area farmers and local residents.
In 1959, the Great Falls Post Office was located in the oldest section of the two-building site. Twenty years later, as postal services expanded throughout the simple, white-frame schoolhouse, a new post office was constructed within walking distance on Walker Road.
Acquired by the Fairfax County Park Authority in 1983, the schoolhouse stands as a reminder of Great Falls' rural and historic past.