In 1834, the Catoctin Creek Aqueduct at Mile 51.5 opened a critical link in one of America's pioneering transportation corridors. One of eleven aqueducts, it was often called the most beautiful aqueduct on the line. After the C&O Canal ceased operations in 1924, the aqueduct entered a period of decay. Floods, ice, and erosion took their toll.
In 2005, the Catoctin Aqueduct Restoration Fund joined with the National Park Service, the State of Maryland, Frederick County, and local organizations to restore the historic landmark, and provide a safe and memorable park experience for towpath visitors at Catoctin Creek. Aided by funds from the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act, the restoration team completed their work in August 2011.
(Caption) Park staff used foam board patterns to help determine where individual stones should go— exactly where canal builders had them originally. It was painstaking work.
(Caption) Government and private-sector leaders broke ground for the restoration.
(Caption) Divers inspected the aqueduct's foundations and recovered original stones.
(Caption) Stone by stone, the restoration team reassembled the Catoctin Aqueduct.